About District

Vaishali find its origin way back in history from the Mahabharata period. It is the place where democracy found its origin around 600BC. Numerous references to Vaishali are found in texts pertaining to both Jainism and Buddhism, which have preserved much information on Vaishali and the other Maha Janapadas. Based on the information found in these texts, Vaishali was established as a republic by the 6th century BC, prior to the birth of Gautama Buddha in 563, making it the world’s first republic. Being the birthplace of the last Jain “Thirthankara” Lord Mahavir gives Vaishali a very special place in history.The founder of Buddhism, Gautam Buddha delivered his last sermon and announced his Parinirvana (attainment of enlightment) on this holy soil. It is also renowned as the land of Ambapali (Amrapali), the great Indian courtesan. It is held that the district derives its name from King Vishal. However, history records that around the time Patliputra was the centre of political, cultural and economic activities in the Gangetic plains, Vaishali came into existence as centre of the Ganga, it was the seat of the Republic of Vajji. Vaishali is credited with being the World’s First Republic to have a duly elected assembly of representatives and efficient administration. The district gained the status of independent district on 12-10-1972, prior to which it was a part of old Muzaffarpur district. Hajipur, the district headquarters of Vaishali was so named after a King of Bengal named Haji Ilyas Shah (1345 to 1358 A.D) who founded it.He built a fort in Hajipur, with a mosque inside it called Jami Masjid, a building measuring 84.5 ft (25.8 m) long and 33.5 ft (10.2 m) broad, which was called Ukkacala in ancient times.

The District is spread over 2036 sq km area and has a population of and is located at 25°41′N 85°13′E / 25.68°N 85.22°E. The district is and is surrounded by Muzaffarpur (North), Patna (South), Samastipur (East) and Saran (West). ).The district has 3 subdivisions, 16 blocks, 290 Gram Panchyat & 1572 villages.


  1. Hajipur
  2. Mahnar
  3. Mahua


1. Mahnar  2. Vaishali 3. Bidupur 4. Goraul 5. Raghopur  6. Lalganj 7. Hajipur  8. Mahua  9. Jandaha 10. Patepur 11. Sahdei Buzurg 12. Bhagwanpur 13. Chehrakala 14. Rajapakar 15. Patedhi Belsar 16. Desari